Bright Eyes w/Kurt Vile and the Violaters Official ACL Aftershow @ Stubb’s

I don’t think y’all understand how much I dig Bright Eyes. I remember the first time I heard “First Day of My Life”…my world changed. Back then I was a young, hopeless romantic teen and that song was everything I ever wanted a boy to say to me (lame..I know.)I listened to their album “I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning” OBSESSIVELY.

And now, even though I’m old and bitter now, I still melt whenever I hear that song. Ahhhhhh. Don’t judge me….it’s awesome!

But anyways, Bright Eyes is way more badass than just that one song and they are one of THE bands of the indie rock genre. Seriously, Conor Oberst is a certifiable god of the indie world. Everything he touches turns to gold, and Bright Eyes is, in my opinion, his greatest venture. Bright Eyes’ sound is a chameleon in that it constantly changes and transforms from song to song, album to album. You never know what you’re going to get. Bright Eyes usually has hints of their signature folksy or country-twinged sound, but their music can convey so many emotions: love, passion, despair, happiness, anger…their music always has this beautiful poeticism that is distinctly their own.

I saw them in concert when they came to my hometown when I was in high school and it was AMAZING. Bright Eyes puts on an electrifying show. When I saw that they were on the ACL lineup I FREAKED OUT.  If you haven’t done so already, you must put Bright Eyes on your list of bands that are a must see.

But just in case you miss Bright Eyes at ACL or you see them and they’re SO good that you want to see them again…then you’re in luck. Because with ACL comes official ACL Aftershows…

And on Saturday, September 17 Bright Eyes along with Kurt Vile and the Violators are putting on one of these aftershows. You don’t want to miss out on Kurt Vile either, who is often compared to the one and only Bruce Springsteen. Bright Eyes and Kurt Vile and the Violators will take the stage at Stubb’s. Doors open at 9 p.m. and TRUST me…you do not want to miss this at all.

And of course there’s always a perk here at Do512…click “I Like It” for the chance to win one of THREE pairs of free tickets.

This entry was posted in Ear Candy, Featured. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

